Dream Merchant Vol. 2 – 9th Wonder

9th Wonder

01. Mr. Dream Merchant Intro
02. Shots Feat. Big Dho & Sean Price
03. Merchant of Dreams Feat. Chaundon, Skyzoo, L.E.G.A.C.Y., & Torae
04. Brooklyn in My Mind Feat. Mos Def, Jean Grae, & Memphis Bleek
05. Sunday Feat. Keisha Shontelle & Chaundon
06. Baking Soda Feat. Big Treal
07. Reminisce Feat. Big Remo the Great & Novej of the A.L.L.I.E.S.
08. No Time to Chill Feat. Little Brother
09. It Ain’t Over Feat. Jozeemo & Tyler Woods
10. The Last Time Feat. Royce the 5-9, Vandalyzm & Naledge of the Midwest Wreckin’ Crew – The Chi, The Lou, & The D
11. Saved Feat. Saigon & Joe Scudda
12. The Milky Lowa Feat. Camp Lo
13. Backlash Feat. Sean Boog of the Away Team & Buckshot of Black Moon
14. Thank You Feat. D.O.X. & O-Dash
15. Let it Bang Feat. Ness & Skyzoo
16. What Makes a Man Feat. Rapper Big Pooh & Buddy Klein
17. Special remix Feat. Strange Fruit Project & Median
18. You Wanna Feat. NBS

9th Wonder brings you his second installment with Dream Merchant 2. More known for his work with Little Brother and creating Threat for Jay-Z, 9th brings a collaboration with his ear in mind. The album features collaborations across the board. Artists such as Mos Def, Bickshot, Jean Grae, Memphis Bleek, and Little brothe name a few. The album creates beautiful sounds but lacks at times with lyrics that bore.

The intro (Mr. Dream Merchant Intro) features cuts from Christopher Williams, The Game and others that use Dream as the main objective. Sean Price & Big Dho lay vocals to the albums first cut Shots. Skyzoo delivers a fire sixteen on Merchant of Dreams. Mos Def, Memphis Bleek & Jean Grae kill it for the borough with Brooklyn In My Mind.

Sunday with Chaundon is a cool song. The laid back feel 9th Wonder provides accompanied by Keisha Shontelle makes good music for all. Big Treal gives a great perspective on Baking Soda. The ills of a 9-5 make it easy to turn to the street. Reminisce doesn’t really grab me so I can’t really comment on it. Little Brother make Voltron on No Time To Chill. Its clear that the team needs to get there mind right and make music together. I skipped It Aint Over and The Last Time every time cause frankly thats why they’re there.

Sai-Giddy and Joe Scudda lay it down on Saved. As Snoops Vocals from Murder Was The Case provide the hook both emcees lay down strong verses. Camp Lo’s song The Milky Lowa is whatever. Sean Boog and Buck Shot tag team on Backlash. Sean Boog comes off like any John Doe rapper flowing on a mic. Buckshot holds it down though from beginning to end. Thank You is another one of those tracks that don’t move me to say anything good or bad. It’s like watching paint dry on the wall.

Ness from Making The Band and Skyzoo kill it together on Let It Bang. Clearly an album cut and not a single it serves its purpose. Rapper Big Pooh does his solo thizzle on What Makes A Man. Song is whatever cause frankly I changed it already. Special Remix featuring Median gets the same treatment. The final track You Wanna by NBS couldn’t stick to my ribs even if it was soylent green. In closing thhe album has a mellow feel throughout that has me feeling sleepy at times. The lack of versatility on a compilation with so many artists is unbelievable. Don’t get me wrong a few emcees did there thing but not enough for me to cop.

Leave a Reply