T.I. Vs T.I.P. – Clifford Harris

TI Vs. TIP album

01. Act I: T.I.P.
02. Big Things Poppin’ (Do It)
03. Raw
04. You Know What It Is
05. Dopeman
06. Watch What You Say to Me Feat. Jay-Z
07. Hurt – Feat. Busta Rhymes
08. Act II: T.I.
09. Help Is Coming
10. My Swag Feat. Wyclef Jean
11. We Do This
12. Show It to Me
13. Don’t You Wanna Be High
14. Touchdown Feat. Eminem
15. Act III: T.I. vs T.I.P. the Confrontation
16. Tell ‘Em I Said That
17. Respect This Hustle
18. My Type

This is not the album I was waiting for. T.I. Vs T.I.P. was suppose to have the street edge of Trap Muzik and swagger of King. The album feels more like an artist that has risen to a point where the machine is doing more creative than them self. The concept of this album stems from a song of the same name on Trap Muzik. As a song T.I. delivered but as an album I don’t see or hear the difference between the two personas.

The intro Act 1 builds the listener. Obviously T.I.P. is in control as he curses out Lyor Cohen on the first track. Big Shit Poppin’ follows the intro track. This song clearly should’ve been the big budget (think hypnotize) video. Raw has subpar verses with only the hook to carry the song. Wyclef lends his production skills to You Know What It Is. Song has a cool vibe but alas i shall not be moved. Da Dopeman is just another dud. Big Homey drops a verse on Watch what You Say. Only because Jigga’s on this one is why I give it any airplay.

Hurt is full of “eh” moments. Act II has T.I. learning about what T.I.P. did. Just Blaze recycles the sample from Just Fire on Come Home With Me for Help Is Coming. Production is hot but once again I cant tell you what dude talking bout. The word Swag (and grown & sexy) should be banned especially when it comes to this song. Were gonna skip We Do This….its a throw away that the yes men approved. The term “Fake Good Song” comes to mind with Show it to me. What A&R approved this debaucle, seriously.

Skipping Don’t You Want To Be High right now. Slim Shady features on Touch Down. Hope this was a favor cause I’m sure Marshall aint cheap. Slim does his thing but it seems like oil and water, shit don’t work. On Act III the two face off and dispute. Tell Em I Said That has T.I. in rare form. Sounds like the old style I wanted on the album. Respect This Hustle gives us a little more of the old TIP. The track My Type has the King speaking from the grave. A farewell of sorts T.I. explains why he lived his life the way he chose.

Out of the 18 tracks on T.I. Vs T.I.P. I can only could a handful of tracks I dig. Commercialism and Big Business are clearly the culprits in this crime. Hip Hop music suffers too much when it comes to these two factors. Maybe T.I.P. will take full control next time and give us an album that is true to that persona.

8 Responses to “T.I. Vs T.I.P. – Clifford Harris”

  1. Big Homie Says:
    July 3rd, 2007 at 7:30 am

    A disappointing album indeed.

  2. Mathis Says:
    July 3rd, 2007 at 3:16 pm

    Why are people falling for this double persona nonsense?

  3. Misha Says:
    July 4th, 2007 at 5:25 pm

    Definitely not what I was waiting for, and ride with cd for the rest of the year either like KING was for me… oh well…maybe next time around?

  4. Fresh Says:
    July 5th, 2007 at 9:26 am

    I ask myself all the time about the split personality thing. It doesn’t work!!! Last time I checked Wyclef wasn’t Jamaican. This album is boring, I’ll stick with KING.

  5. Dre'matic Says:
    July 6th, 2007 at 11:29 am

    I’d rather bump Crunchy Blac talkin bout the runaway!

    July 15th, 2007 at 5:55 pm

    chill the albulm is hot

  7. whitley Says:
    July 19th, 2007 at 2:38 am

    i love t.i. soooooo much i wana marry u i think all u do is amazing luvyah :D xxxxxxx

  8. S. Mathis Says:
    August 11th, 2007 at 8:18 pm

    A album that will be highly overrated and sell very well. Pretty much sums up T.I.’s whole career up to this point.

Leave a Reply