Desire is Classic Material


01. Intro
02. Free
03. Desire Feat. Showtime
04. Push Feat. Showtime, Mela Machinko, Tower Of Power
05. Welcome To The Terrordome
06. What It Is
07. When The Gun Draws Feat. Mr. Porter
08. Let’s Go Feat. Mela Machinko
09. Body Baby
10. Bar Trap Feat. Mela Machinko
11. Hold On Feat. Erykah Badu
12. So Good
13. Trilogy Act I Feat. Mr. Porter, Act II Feat. Dwele, Act III Feat. Tone
14. Agent Orange (UK Bonus Track)

Pharoahe Monch has been on a Hip Hop hiatus of sorts. His debut album Internal Affairs was critically acclaimed. One of the first “Backpack” rappers that was cool before your Kanye West and Lupe’s. After Rawkus’ demise it seemed as if dude got lost in the shuffle.

After a bidding war which included even Bad Boy records he went home to SRC. His sophomore effort Desire was worth the wait. From beginning to end you get all the ingredients a real Hip Hop album should have. Word Play, Metaphors, Fun, Truth, Lyricism, and Music. I say music because you have a million battle rappers who can’t make a song.

There are many songs on this album. In an industry where radio programming runs rampant with bubble gum Hip Pop songs Pharoahe Monch stayed true. On the intro a church choir sings for freedom for our people. An issue only a few artists speak on. The “Intro” goes into the first song titled “Freedom”. The drums, guitar riffs and voice samples accompany Pharoahe’s well known stop and go style. All my real Hip Hop heads will rewind this one. With metaphors like “I’ll explain how these Citi banks Wach-ovia” it needs a source Hip Hop Quotable. The title track “Desire” features new comer Showtime who’s voice is similar to Jodeci’s K-Ci. Great song from beginning to end.

He invokes the spirit of Chuck D with a 2007 upgrade of “Welcome To The Terradome”. Paying homage is always a good look. He gets dark on “What It is”. Pharoahe goes back to his main style with slick lines lke “lay in the cut like neosporin”. Mr. Porter from D12 features as producer and artist on “When the Gun draws”. He speaks from the view of a bullet on this track. Joining the elite (NaS and 2Pac) by giving life to an inanimate object so well. “Let’s Go” speeds up the flow with a little Rock N Roll. The track finishes with an interlude of someone flipping thru radio stations.

“Body Baby” has a doo wop kinda beat. Hip Hops universal feel is clear with Pharoahe flowing effortlessly on this track. “Bar Trap” is great house party music. PM tells a story about a southern bell he meets in the club. You can dance to this one while hearing a tale. Ms. Badu’s voice is an instrument. On “Hold On” she lays the hook to a story of self hate. You can the pride of his people in every word. Never looked at dude like Mos Def til’ now……Black Power.

Pharoahe slows it down for the ladies on “So Good”. The vibe for this one will def make the panties fall off. “Trilogy” shows his story telling skills are not to frown on. The song is broken into three parts with different beats and features for each. A tale of a man who kills his wife and best friend over infidelity. Stories like this is what music is missing these days. Definitely worth the rewind every time. “Agent Orange” is another banger. It might now be on the US release so here. He serves and singer and lyricist on this joint. In closing this album was definitely worth the wait. Even though I got it through the leak I will cop this one on the 26h and take a pic for you non believers. Hip Hop Lives!!!!

2 Responses to “Desire is Classic Material”

  1. NativeAmericaIndianX Says:
    June 6th, 2007 at 8:13 pm

    I haven’t heard the album yet but from the looks of it i feel like i’m gonna hear all the music from ninja gaiden with rap lyrics on them.

  2. Fresh Says:
    June 7th, 2007 at 7:15 am

    I’m not a big Pharoahe Monch fan but I might have to give it a listen.

Leave a Reply