The Day After…

421 Cover

1. Intro
2. Is It Me
3. Problem
4. Somebody Done Fucked Up
5. Shaolin Soldier (Skit)
6. Fall Out
7. Dirty Mef Feat. O.D.B.
8. 4:20 Feat. Streetlife & Carlton Fisk
9. Let’s Ride Feat. Ginuwine
10. The Glide
11. Kids (Skit)
12. Got To Have It
13. Say
14. Ya’Meen Feat. Fat Joe & Styles P
15. Konichiwa Bitches
16. Everything Feat. Inspectah Deck & Streetlife
17. Walk On Feat. Redman
18. Pimpin (Skit)
19. Presidential M.C. Feat. Raekwon & The Rza
20. 4 Ever Feat. Megan Rochell

When I first got this album I wasn’t going to give it a chance. Meth’s previous album was lacking (except for the album artwork) so this one was heading to be my new coaster on my desk. The “Make Marijuana Legal” intro made me laugh turning my attention away from scanning the forums at Black Girl Online. The intro goes into the first track over a hypnotic rhythm. “Is it me” produced by Scott Storch comes in with 3 strong verses. On “Say” Meth takes a very non subtle jab at El Presidente saying “New York New York rock Tube Socks and Timberlands cause Hip Hop aint feelin’ them flip flops they feminine”. Now I’d say he’s just jumping on the bandwagon but to date most people didn’t know that he had an album out. Theres no promotion form Def Jam online, in print, or on TV. There is also talks of the house that Russell built beefing with John Blaze.

All in all I feel this album is a good listen and should be bumped. Someone brought up a good pont to me the other day. The relevance of many of my early 90′s Hip Hop icons really don’t matter to the kids who’s singing “chain hang low” and “chicken noodle soup”. Like is said definetly worth a listen.

Leave a Reply